There are seven Key Learning Areas in the Primary Catholic School Curriculum in New South Wales. These are:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • History and Geography
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

Parents Guide to the NSW Primary Syllabus

National Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum is being developed progressively by ACARA (Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority) in collaboration with a wide range of stakeholders, including teachers, principals, governments, State and Territory education authorities, professional education associations, community groups and the general public.

To find out more about the development process of the Australian Curriculum and to view the K-10 Curriculum documents for English, Mathematics, Science and History please visit

NSW Board of Studies

State and Territory education authorities are responsible for the implementation of the Australian Curriculum.  St Francis Xavier follows the guidelines as set out by the NSW Board of Studies when creating learning sequences for the students.

Contemporary Learning Framework